Georgia Weapons Carry License
A Weapons Carry License (WCL), also called a firearms license, allows you to legally carry a concealed firearm in Georgia. You do not need a WCL to purchase a firearm, only to carry one in certain situations. You can find detailed information about Georgia’s gun laws on the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives website by clicking here. Scroll to O.C.G.A § Sec. 16-11-129 to read the Code pertaining to Weapons Carry Permits.
Your Georgia WCL may be valid in other states. Click here to view the states that practice firearm permit reciprocity with Georgia on the Georgia’s Department of Public Safety’s website. Be advised that while the states listed recognize a Georgia WCL the laws of those states regarding when, where and how you may carry a weapon may differ from those of Georgia. You should familiarize yourself with the laws of any reciprocating state prior to carrying a weapon there.
You may complete your WCL application online by clicking here.
Applications for a WCL may also be completed at the Probate Court at 70 N. Alexander St. Ste 108 in Toccoa Monday through Friday (excluding holidays) between 8 a.m. and 4 p.m. Please call 706-886-2828 to schedule an appointment. As of March 1, 2023 the fee for a new permit is $78.25 and the renewal fee is $30.00. We accept cash or check. The permit is valid for five years. Please call to verify that no changes have been made for the above fees.
When you arrive at probate court, you’ll need an official form of identification showing you are a Stephens County resident and your payment. Submit your application at the court. The Court will take your fingerprints electronically. Within five days the county probate judge will request a criminal history records check and a background check on you. Georgia Probate Judges are required by law to approve the license as long as there is nothing in your background check that would preclude you from getting a WCL . Once approved you should receive your license by mail within two weeks.
County probate judges may restrict state residents with criminal records from getting licenses. If you’ve been in a mental hospital or drug treatment center within the last five years, you must ask that your county probate court judge approve your license application. The judge will seek a recommendation from the superintendent of your hospital or treatment center, and then determine whether it’s safe for you to carry a gun.